Lady Lynette – 1955 to 2015

Lady Lynette, a prominent leader in the Master/slave community, passed away on March 3, 2015 at age 59 after a long illness.

She began her journey in her native Oklahoma where she was active in the Leather and BDSM communities. She held the title of South Plains Leather 2001. She was one of […]

By |March 28th, 2015|News, Passings|0 Comments

Master/slave Conference Dedicated to Lady Lynette

MsC 2015 will be dedicated to the memory of Lady Lynette, who passed away on March 3, 2015. The Executive Committee for MsC 2015 has decided to honor her by dedicating MsC 2015 in her memory.

The Legacy of Lady Lynette:

MsC Associate Producer since 2009
Member of the MTTA Board of Directors since 2008
Deputy Director of the […]

By |March 24th, 2015|Events US, Passings|0 Comments

R.I.P. Andy Anderson

The Board of Directors and Titleholders of The Heart of the Flag Federation today announced the passing of Andy Anderson, Mr. Leather Fellowship Toronto 1989/ Mr. NLA International 1992-93.

“It is with deep regret and sadness that I share the news of the passing of a legendary member of our vibrant community,” said Robert Miller, President, […]

By |March 6th, 2015|News, Passings|1 Comment

Pantheon of Leather Award Recipients Announced

The Leather Journal just released the names of the 2014 Pantheon of Leather award recipients. It’s a who’s who! Check it out:

Man of the Year – Jaco Lourens
Woman of the Year – Pat Baillie
Mister Marcus Hernandez Lifetime Achievement Award (Man) – Dr. Jack Fritscher, PhD
Mister Marcus Hernandez Lifetime Achievement Award (Woman) – Caron Ryer
Large Non […]

By |August 15th, 2014|Awards, Community|0 Comments

2014 Leathertarian Awards

The Leathertarian Awards, founded by James-John Joseph Gigliello, are presented annually to those who have a long-standing record of good work and service in the Leather/Fetish Communities.

Six panelists were asked to select this years awardees. The panel included Hardy Haberman, Ces Williams, Bruce Ross, Master Wolf, Maria Dakota Beloti, and Sir John Krikorian.

On June 21, […]

By |July 30th, 2014|Awards|0 Comments

RIP Mr Leather Ottawa Jon Letke

The news just came out that Mr Leather Ottawa 2014, Jon Letke, has died from an apparent suicide. Letke, 25, who was known in the leather community as “Nizzi Greatpup”, had moved to Ottawa from Toronto in 2013 and was a well-loved member of Ottawa’s leather/queer community. Letke had competed at International Mr Leather in […]

By |July 26th, 2014|Current Affairs, Events Canada, Passings|4 Comments

Leathertarian Award Experiences Rebirth

Wilton Manors, FL.

James-John Joseph Gigliello (better known as Daddy Jim) has announced that an annual Leathertarian Award will be given each June, “to recognize the long standing good works of those in the Leather Fetish communities.”  According to The Leathertarian Facebook page, a 6-member panel will choose three recipients: one male, one female and a […]

By |January 20th, 2014|Awards, Community, News, People|1 Comment

Pat Baillie to Receive National Gay and Lesbian Task Force’s 2014 Leather Leadership Award

WASHINGTON, Jan. 8 —The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force has announced that Pat Baillie will receive the organization’s Ninth Annual Leather Leadership Award at the Task Force’s 26th National Conference on LGBT Equality: Creating Change. Over 4,000 leaders and activists are expected to attend the conference, which will be held in Houston, January 29 […]

By |January 9th, 2014|Awards, Current Affairs, Milestones, News, People|0 Comments

ACT- UP Co-Founder Commits Suicide

ACT-UP co-founder Carl Goodman, 58, of Bristol, RI was pronounced dead at Rhode Island Hospital after jumping from the Mt. Hope Bridge in Bristol.

San Francisco activist Michael Petrelis, author of The Petrelis Files blog, reported that Goodman was his friend and one of the co-founders of ACT UP. Petrelis shares personal memories of how […]

By |January 7th, 2014|News, Passings|0 Comments

Leather Archives & Museum names Matthew Steinbrecher as Guest Artist Gallery (GAG) Curator

CHICAGO – The Leather Archives & Museum (LA&M) announced today that they have named Matthew Steinbrecher as Curator for the Guest Artist Gallery (GAG) at the museum.  The GAG features prominent and up and coming erotic artists.  Previous artists include Justice Howard, Mary Chiodini, Philip Hitchcock, Lochai, John Randle and over a dozen other artists.  […]

By |October 13th, 2013|Milestones, News|0 Comments

In Memoriam, Artemis Silverowl—“A Lion Among Women”

April 5, 1957 – October 3, 2013

by Caro

Last week the tragic news of the untimely death of Artemis Silverowl rocked both the Women’s and Leather communities. Artemis was a long time member of both, beginning in the early days of the “feminist wars in the 70s” through to NLA-I Dallas, Living in Leather, the Domestic […]

By |October 12th, 2013|News, Passings|0 Comments

Toronto Leather Pride 2013 Wrap-Up: Third Time’s A Charm

This year, for Toronto Leather Pride, Heart of the Flag Federation expanded it from a weekend to a week.

From August 3rd – August 11th, 2013, a total of 21 events – which range from bar events to educational workshops to play parties for men, women and trans* people – took place at 12 locations in […]

By |September 1st, 2013|Awards, Bars, Clubs, Community, Contests, Events Canada, News, Shopping|1 Comment